Kirjoittaja Aihe: Hulluista muotivaatteista  (Luettu 4913 kertaa)

• Satraappi
  • Ylläpitäjä
  • Legenda
    • Profiili
    • http://www.keikari.com
Hulluista muotivaatteista
« : 18.01.13 - klo:18:35 »
Vihdoin löysin sopivan kattavan määritelmän kaikille mikroaaltouunia ja teflonpannua muistuttaville muotivaatteille, joita me tavalliset pukeutujat emme ymmärrä. Lyhykäisyydessä niillä siis haetaan huomiota, koetellaan rajoja ja ne muistuttavat konseptiautoja. Tämän kaiken kun olisi joku jo aiemmin selventänyt.

"I've seen this be asked on Reddit so many times I want to throw my laptop out the window every time. But, I get the confusion if you're not a part of the industry and you're just the consumer. I'm a fashion designer - I do both pret-a-porter as well as experimental collections so I can tell you know this works from the fashion industry's point of view;
Designers are not artists. Never will be. If you do art, you do art. If you're a designer, you're a fucking designer. Because with art you express your own ego, whereas in design you think of the person who is going to own your piece. There is a fine line between the two though and it's getting more and more confusing lately, I'll give you that.

The experimental collections (what you call bizarre outfits) are not art and you should not confuse it with it. What they are though, is experimenting in an industry, that's basically invented everything that's to be invented. It's a way to express a raw concept in an interesting and exciting way. I think someone likened it to a concept car - very good comparison, only in fashion it's much more important. I always say it's like presenting my sketchbook in 3D.